fawe gabon

About FAWE Gabon

The Forum for African Women Educationalists, Gabon Chapter (FAWE Gabon) was born from the vision of a Gabonese Lady who, in 1992, joined four (4) other women, Ministers of Education in their countries, just as she was in Gabon at that time, to set up a Pan-African Non-Governmental Organization.

The objective is simple: to promote the education of girls and women in sub-Saharan Africa, in line with Education For All.

 

However, it was not until 1995, precisely on 1 May 1995, that the Pan-African Organization held its Constitutive General Assembly in Libreville, Gabon.

The name of the NGO (Forum for African Women Educationalists) and its acronym, therefore, remain in English as the Regional Secretariat or Main Office is based in Nairobi, Kenya.

FAWE Gabon, present and active on the national territory since 1995, is an NGO duly registered with the Ministry of the Interior. 

It has a Cooperation Agreement with the Ministry of National Education and is working with strategic partners and communities to ensure that programmes are implemented for girls in schools, adolescents and young people to a greater extent, but also for parents and families in an effective manner and that these programmes are fully supported by all stakeholders.

It is on the strength of FAWE Gabon's proven role in the fight against dropping out of school in Gabon that, since 2013, the Chapter has been housed within the Lycée Bâ Oumar in Bas-de-Guégué, making it FAWE Gabon's first Centre of Excellence, i.e. its laboratory for experimenting innovative practices and sustainable interventions integrating the gender dimension in education.

To carry out its activities, FAWE Gabon relies on its Alumni Office.
These girls who have benefited from the supervision of the NGO at one time or another and who now become the guardians of the younger ones and come under the supervision of FAWE Gabon.

fawe gabon

À propos de FAWE Gabon

Le Forum des Éducatrices Africaines, antenne du Gabon (FAWE Gabon), nait de la vision d’une Dame gabonaise qui, en 1992, s’unit à quatre (4) autres femmes, Ministre de l’Éducation dans leurs pays tout comme elle l’est au Gabon à ce moment-là, pour mettre sur pied une Organisation Non Gouvernementale panafricaine.

L’objet en est simple : promouvoir l’éducation des filles et des femmes en Afrique subsaharienne, conformément à l’Éducation Pour Tous.

 

Il faudra tout de même attendre 1995, précisément le 1er mai 1995, pour que l’Organisation panafricaine tienne son Assemblée Générale Constitutive de Bureau à Libreville, au Gabon.

Le nom de l’ONG (Forum for African Women Educationalists) et son acronyme donc restent en anglais car le Secrétariat Régional ou encore le Bureau Principal est basé à Nairobi, au Kenya.

FAWE Gabon, présent et en activité sur le territoire national depuis 1995, est une ONG dûment enregistrée au Ministère de l’Intérieur. 

Elle possède une Convention de Coopération avec le Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale et est à pied d’œuvre avec les partenaires stratégiques et les communautés, afin de s’assurer que des programmes soient mis en œuvre en faveur des filles en milieu scolaire, des adolescents et des jeunes dans une plus large mesure, mais aussi à l’endroit des parents et des familles de façon efficace et que ces programmes soient entièrement soutenus par toutes les parties prenantes.

C’est fort du rôle avéré de FAWE Gabon dans la lutte contre le décrochage scolaire au Gabon que l’antenne est hébergée, depuis 2013, dans l’enceinte même du Lycée Bâ Oumar, au Bas-de-Guégué, faisant d’emblée de cet établissement le premier Centre d’Excellence de FAWE Gabon, soit, son laboratoire d’expérimentation de pratiques innovatrices et d’interventions durables intégrant la dimension genre dans l’éducation.

Pour mener à bien ses activités, FAWE Gabon sait compter sur son bureau des Alumni.
Ces jeunes filles ayant bénéficié de l’encadrement de l’ONG à un moment ou à un autre et qui, désormais, se font gardiennes des plus jeunes et relève de FAWE Gabon.